Confidence Can :: The Beginning

There are things that I’m not great at.  Surprised?  Ha!  You know, I thought the gig was up.  🙂  Cleaning, cooking, and organization are a few of these things. Exercising and knowing when to be quiet are a few more. But one of my biggest weaknesses?

Confidence.

Just plain old, nothing fancy, confidence.

Smiling big, walking tall, hair blowing in the wind like Cindy Crawford on a photoshoot (well I don’t want to be her, but you get my drift).

The end of 2012 was a whirlwind of holidays, eating too rich of foods, worrying about rushing, and then, miraculously, realizing that I didn’t have to.  Not if I had confidence.  Not if I could proudly make a decision and be CONFIDENT in it.

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love, and of self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7 (NIV)

I had this scripture written on my blackboard in my kitchen for about the last 3 months.  But, I did not know how to apply it to my life.

Non traditional families bring more planning, less structure sometimes.

Long commutes bring stress and anger.

Figuring a budget and sticking to it takes hard work, and determination.

Making sure that I don’t look like a bag lady when going to work takes patience and a Reese Witherspoon budget.

Right?  Well, at least some of that stuff is true.  (Although if Reese wanted to throw a few bucks my way, I wouldn’t be mad).

And I need to work on my confidence in ALL OF THESE THINGS?  YIKES!

But, instead of being overwhelmed, I decided to go to some of my closest friends and confidants.  And, pick their brains about their strengths, so that we can share it here with you and learn some stuff to help all of us.  Sound like a plan?  There won’t be tests at the end, but perhaps I will have gained confidence to inspire, give back, and give away something that will surely boost your confidence!

CONFIDENCE CAN LOGO

I proudly introduce to you, my new series, Confidence Can.  There will be several categories, from my dear friends, who all have different passions and strengths, and are willing to freely help me with this endeavor.  I can’t wait for everyone to gain some confidence, and truly know that this is going to be the best year yet! 

Published by beforeverlovely

be forever lovely, upon all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. © Barbara Lynn Lund 2010

5 thoughts on “Confidence Can :: The Beginning

Leave a comment